Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

The text from my son read “I’m coming home. Need some medical attention. I don’t want stitches.” Sure, that’s the moment when I could choose to panic, to get angry, to freak out, but thankfully that’s not the route I go. I’m good in chaos. Like when a dear friend was having some scary heart related stuff and her husband said “I want Julie here, she can help and get s*#t done.” I’m good at gettin’ s*#t done. So I text back and ask where the injury is and tell my son to get home so I can have a look. “There’s a hole in my lip,” was the response, and I knew the first phone call I needed to make was to a plastic surgeon. Thankfully my pediatrician and my google search came up with the same option which made my decision easier. I mean, to have my kids doctor refer us is one thing, but Google too?! I knew I was in good hands. Ok seriously, we did end up in the extremely kind, patient, and well-skilled hands of Dr. Monasabien and his staff. Bloodied, and with what turned out to be more than one hole in his lip, we showed up at the office, which they kept open after hours so my son could be seen. The doctor popped right out and was immediately calming and welcoming. He asked all the right questions, and not to me, but to my son, which I thought was great and empowering for my kid. Sure Dr. Monasabien was mindful of me and my concerns, but his respect for his now patient, was well-received, and garnered him the immediate trust of my son. The doctor explained what would happen so there were no surprises and took us in to the procedure room. Two nurses, who also stayed late to help us, went into action assisting the doctor, while also checking on me. My boy was such a trooper, partially because he might have been in a bit of shock, but also because everyone in the office was so completely chill.

In stitches...lots of em.

In stitches…lots of em.

It turned out to be worse than any of us had initially thought and he needed a boat load of stitches, but thank goodness it was easily sutured. He will heal and have a sexy scar to boot!

Now there’s the matter of how this happened, and it turns out it was a total accident. Basically, my sons very good friend was horsing around and clocked him. The friend walked him home and could barely make eye contact with me as he clearly felt terrible about the whole thing. There was nothing to do but relieve this boy of his guilt, knowing that he’d learned a lesson about horsing around and hurting someone he cares about, and also knowing his parents would handle it on their end.

The message I leave you with is this, boys will be boys, and always call a plastic surgeon if it involves the face!

Stay well.

I was grateful I had my Totems with me to help keep me calm and grounded. Do you have a Totem with you at all times? If not, you should! Click the link to visit our store and buy one today!