Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

***Warning*** The following blog post will contain information that may make you cringe, shudder, raise your eyebrows, and definitely look some stuff up!

I say it all the time, and I can’t say it enough, but I am grateful for the co-parenting relationship my ex-husband and I have worked very hard at maintaining. It becomes all the more apparent and precious when one of our kids is hurt and we need to work together. So I will start off by saying “Thank you” to my kids’ Dad, for being able to remain calm and supportive, even when I’m freaked out and telling you what to do! 🙂 No, that’s not the PSA, but it could be, co-parenting is a choice not an option!

On to the more weighty issue at hand, my son’s huevos, nads, brass ones, bawls. Yup, he knows I’m writing about him/them, and as long as I didn’t use visuals, he was ok with it. We spent several hours in the ER last night, because my son was complaining of pain in the nether region. Thankfully, and unfortunately, we had been here before, because although it had been years, he had experienced this pain before. There’s nothing like having your then 10-year-old, walk into your room and saying “Mom, my balls hurt.” I hadn’t seen “the boys” in quite a while, and my son wasn’t thrilled when I said “Drop ’em!” Fast forward 5 years, and now my 15 year old, 5’11, size 14 shoe wearing kid says “My balls hurt”, and there’s only one thing you can say. “Get in the car.” That’s because 5 years ago we learned that there is a mere 6 hour window to save a testicle if it’s twisted. Yes, 6 hours ONLY! So we don’t mess around when there is even a hint of pain. I’m a mom of 3 boys, and I had never heard this before and I was shocked, but glad for the information. This time, as well as last time, my son didn’t have torsion of a testicle thankfully, but what he did have was a case of epididimytis, again. The only thing to do is go to the hospital to get a sonogram to make sure there is proper blood flow to the testicles and if the answer is yes, then it’s just rest and anti-inflammatory meds for pain and swelling. This is your PSA, if your son ever complains that his testicles hurt, run, don’t walk, to the nearest ER for a sonogram. My son’s all good now, a little tender, but back at school with a hospital bracelet to get him out of homework and get sympathy from his pals. Deep breath. It seems a little extreme to go running to the hospital every time, but I was validated by the ER doc who said to me with a knowing smile, “You don’t have a choice.”

Having a "ball"!

Having a “ball”!

It’s a good thing my son and I have great senses of humor, so we deflected our anxiety by making each other crack up, and the hospital staff,too! During the sonogram, which was performed by a very macho and stocky radiologist, and witnessed by an also macho “chaperone”, my son and I were cracking jokes. We were having a “ball”, for example, then my son quipped that something had gone over his head, corrected himself and said “well, actually under my head.” Everyone laughed, and it made the whole experience tolerable. While we waited for the results, we giggled some more, and then my boy leaned his head on my shoulder for a dose of reality and motherly comfort. Through all of the anxiety and the joke-telling, the inappropriate comments and stories about his childhood, the moment he rested his head on my shoulder, he was my baby once again, and I was reminded of how blessed I am to be his mother. Hopefully, you will never need this information, but it’s important to have it, just in case!

Stay well.

Always good to have the principles of Totem Tamers at hand, even if you don’t have a Totem. Deep breathing and visualization is key in times that are overwhelming, learn them when you get your Totem Tamers Set, by clicking on any of the Totems on the left!