Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

It’s December 15, 2014. It’s December 15th again, just like it was last year and the year before, and just like it will be next year and the year after. What’s my December 15th been like so far? Well, I saw my naturopath¬†this morning to help with my aches and ills (thankfully nothing a friendly face, some pressure, and some expertly placed rice grains can’t help). Then I finally managed to get a mani/pedi, removing the trace of old nail polish and fixing broken nails. Then it was off to pick up one kid, which inevitably means playdate, which equals more than one kid. Another kid is having his guitar lesson, and yet another is on his way for his bass guitar lesson (I have three kids to call my own.) So why the significance in a day that seems so normal? Well, it’s also my brother Jonathan’s birthday. He would’ve been 44 today, and I’m sure if he were here and healthy, we would have some family dinner planned where we would eat and laugh, two things my brother was expert at. Sadly, my brother left this world (assuming there are others) 11 years ago, so today is simply another day in a life that I am blessed to still be living. We all have dates in our memories that mark events, whether sad or happy, tragic or celebratory, but what remains is that it is another day that we get to be here, that we get to remember, that we get to live. So even though my brother is gone and I miss him every day, I am here and he would want me to go about my day, go about my life, as if he were right here celebrating with me. So with my sparkly nails, and a houseful of kids, I will cook dinner, and listen to music, and maybe even have some cake, because i’m living my life today and I’m grateful to be doing just that!

Totems and sparkles to help me through this day.

Totems and sparkles to help me through this day.

Stay well.