Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Totems, Tassel, Teenager!

Totems, Tassel, Teenager!

That’s the cap my son will be wearing, sans Totems, as he graduates 8th grade today and heads to high school in the fall. I can’t believe it. How did my little mush of a baby boy grow to be way taller than me? My pride has no words because there just aren’t enough, he inspires me and teaches me every day how to be a better parent. Sometimes that lesson comes by way of him screwing up and me realizing that I should have, could have, done it differently. Sometimes that lesson comes from moments where he is recognized for being the outstanding person he is becoming.

Totems and Treasures!

Totems and Treasures!

One of those awards is for Graduation Speaker, yes, my boy is going to get up in front of his classmates and family and speechify! He was one of four kids selected to speak, and I couldn’t be prouder. I took a peek at the speech, partly because I wanted to make sure there was nothing terribly inappropriate in it, and partly because I figured it would help me cry less if I read it ahead of time. In the speech he quotes Neil Peart of the band, Rush, and brings the quote full circle comparing his friends and classmates to seeds in a garden. The he gives a big thank you and says “I wouldn’t be where I am without you and I don’t want to be anywhere else than where I am right now.” Yeah, you’re right, I’m going to cry no matter what, but they are tears of happiness and pride, and sadness that another teeny bit of my baby boy is growing up. One good part is that he’s almost big enough to carry me now! I love you, my son, and can’t wait to see what else you have in store!

Stay well.