Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

X-ray vision!

X-ray vision!

Wednesday afternoon I went to pick up my little one, who would glare at me for calling him little, he is 7 3/4 year old, after all! Anyway, he hurries over to me and says “Hi Mom! I broke my arm today. I’m going to go play!” Off he went, he didn’t seem too concerned, so I wasn’t either. About 20 minutes later he came back and had that face that parents know all too well. You know the one where they look like they might cry but since all their friends are around they are going to try super hard and suck it up? Yeah, it was that face. So I looked at his wrist, and didn’t see anything remarkable. I assumed it was a sprain or just a major bruise. Home we went to ice it and of course play nursemaid! He seemed ok and was using his hand, wrist, arm, etc., which confirmed my initial unprofessional diagnosis that it wasn’t broken. When my boy continued to complain the next day, I thought we better get it looked at, so we went to Urgent Care. Urgent Care is awesome because they are free-standing walk-in clinics that will take you on the spot and they can handle everything from broken bones to stitches, so I knew we could at least get an X-ray. Even my son could pick out the spot on the X-ray that looked “funny.” His wrist had cracked and it was suspected that it was right along the growth plate, which meant we needed to see an orthopedist today. When my friends started checking in, they all said “If you need a guy, I’ve got a great one!” Sadly, I have been through this before with each of my other boys, so we had a guy too, except she’s a girl, and she rocks, but she wasn’t available! So now the panic sets in for Mommy! I was doing ok for the most part since prior experience lends itself to calm, but now that our regular doctor wasn’t available, I was worried we would end up having to go through the weekend with a roughly set soft cast. I started making calls and getting passed from one office to another. I finally had one office tell us to come right in! Turns out he’s some superstar sports doc, and has written books and been on TV! Funny how he managed to fit us in when several others couldn’t. He got a big thumbs up from a friend who has a practice in Jersey (yeah, good friend, but I wasn’t going to Jersey) so I was sure we were in good hands. When Dr. Jordan Metzl walked into the examining room with a big “Duuuudes,” I was momentarily put off. Then I realized, he wasn’t there for me, he was there for my kid, who was immediately engaged and eager to tell his story. That’s a great bedside manner. Turns out there was a fracture along the growth plate, and my boy is now in a cast for three weeks, but thanks to Dr. Metzls’ chill nature, it was not a big deal!

Black casts are cool!

Black casts are cool!

As the doctor knocked on the cast to make sure it was hardened, my son said “Hey, I could use it for knock-knock jokes!” We all agreed that was a better choice than using it as a weapon on his brothers. So yes, I was anxious that it was going to be a traumatic experience, but grateful that everyone remained calm, cool, and collected! So I hope you never need an orthopedist, but just in case, I’ve got one, or two, and if you’re willing to go to Jersey, make that three!

Stay well.

Dr. Metzl was eager to hear about Totem Tamers for anxiety relief, so I promised to bring a couple when we go to the cast off. Do you have a Totem? Click on the left to get one now!