Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , ,

October is Breast Cancer Awareness Month. The reality is that we are aware 12 months out of the year because everyone knows at least one person that has been affected by breast cancer. I know many. I know those who have lost parents, sisters, and other friends and family members to the disease. I am grateful and honored to also know many who have battled and are winning the fight against breast cancer. One of those individuals is Teri Trotter. She is one of the most inspirational people I have ever met, and the perfect example of how to fight and not let cancer rule your life. Totem Tamers is humbled to name Teri our WARRIOR WEDNESDAY, for not only being so vocal about her diagnosis and treatment, but for her wish to help others who have been diagnosed with breast cancer. Teri started an incredible organization called The Pink Wig, providing hot pink wings free of charge to women undergoing cancer treatment. Doesn’t Teri look great?!

Have Pink Wig, will fight!

Have Pink Wig, will fight!

Even though The Pink Wig will give a wig free of charge, I purchased one of these for a friend of mine, and it was worth the smiles and the fun pictures giving her even a small break from dealing with something that none of us could imagine. Here is Teri’s story, and how you can find out more about The Pink Wig and how you can help bring a smile to someone who is battling cancer.

The Pink Wig

“I was diagnosed with breast cancer on February 6, 2009. I was 37 with 2 children, ages 11 and 9. My treatment plan included a double mastectomy and 4 rounds of chemo. I decided to cut off my long hair before it started falling out and shaved my head the day it did. I was never comfortable in proper wigs. I felt that it looked like I was trying to be “normal.” In April of that year, my sister-in-law planned a girls’ night out for my birthday and I wore a pink wig. I felt free. No one pitied me. I was just having fun. I was not defined by my cancer. It was then that I realized that every breast cancer survivor should have a pink wig. The Pink Wig stands for power – the power to LIVE YOUR LIFE and not let cancer rule.

The Pink Wig provides wigs to cancer survivors at no charge. Please contact me using the information below. If you are a care-giver, loved one or friend of a survivor and would like to show your support, please donate $30 per wig. If you don’t need a wig but would like to donate, contact me.

Help spread the power of The Pink Wig!

The Pink Wig
Teri Trotter, Founder

ttrotter@marx-bensdorf.com

(901) 647-4018 “

Thanks for being our WARRIOR WEDNESDAY Teri and thanks for being a source of light and inspiration to so many.

Stay well.

To learn more about Totem Tamers, please visit our site at www.totemtamers.com.