Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Earlier this week I whined about The Naked Cowboy attempting to usurp my authority by tempting my 13-year-old to forego college and start a Naked Cowboy franchise instead. That would mean my son prancing around in tighty-whities, cowboy boots and hat, with a guitar strapped to his chest. People would give him cash tips to take pictures and chicks would dig him. My son’s obvious interest was frightening, so I did what any mother would do, and I introduced him to another gentleman, whom I hoped would have a more positive influence on my son.

"Do your homework!"

“Do your homework!”

I was blessed with having had the chance to introduce all of my children to The President of the United States of America, Barack Obama! They were awestruck, as am I every time I get a chance to see the President. President Obama, shook their hands and asked each child his name and age, and engaged in banter with all of them. It was awesome to watch my boys’ faces interacting with the leader of the free world, they were thoroughly impressed, but beautifully chill about the whole thing. We all smiled for our photo and we were being ushered out of the room when I heard the President let out a hearty laugh. I turned to see my Naked Cowboy-influenced 13-year-old still talking to the President. “Oh my goodness,” I thought, wondering what my boy was possibly saying. The President and I made eye contact, and he gave me his trademark grin as he turned to my son and said “No, I will not write you a note to get you out of homework!” We all laughed heartily, but the President continued to push and told my son that he needed to do well in school and that meant doing his homework. Even though he was disappointed, my son stayed up later than usual to complete his required tasks, but he did so with a huge grin, knowing that he was doing his homework because “the President said so.”

Hopefully I will be able to post pictures of that casual interaction between the two of them, but either way I know my son will never forget it! I’m just sort of hoping he’ll forget about The Naked Cowboy.

Stay well.

To learn more about Totem Tamers, please visit our site at www.totemtamers.com.