Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , ,

I have often been told that I am observant. I often joke that I should have been a secret agent because I notice things that others might disregard. This is both a blessing and a curse. It’s a curse when you notice that the person you are talking with has a fairly thick hair growing from right out of the tip of their nose, and you just can’t take your eyes off of it. Sort of like that car accident you drive by and you don’t want to look, but you just can’t help yourself. Yeah, you know what I mean. It’s a blessing however, when I get to see things that lighten my spirit and make me smile. Like the cardinals that fly overhead on my block early in the morning calling loudly to each other, or like the little girl I saw the other day with her yo-yo. She was walking down the sidewalk several feet behind her nanny (who was busy texting and not paying attention, sadly.) She must have been at least 2 years old, but not much more, and she was dragging the yo-yo behind her by the string. The beautiful thing was that she wasn’t just dragging the yo-yo carelessly, she was chatting with it, almost as though she were the nanny and the yo-yo her charge. She was telling the yo-yo that they would go to the playground later and that now they needed to get home. She was so sweet and gentle about it, and so nurturing that I was sure she would tuck that yo-yo in for a nap when she got home. Our lives are like that yo-yo, sometimes dragged around over every bump and pothole, sometimes wound so tightly that we have no room to grow, so many ups and downs that we sometimes lose direction. My hope for you, and for myself, is that we treat our lives just like that little girl treats her yo-yo, with care and comfort and love, even through the tough times and even more, through the good times.

Totems Yo!

Totems Yo!

Stay well.

To learn more about Totem Tamers, please visit our site at www.totemtamers.com.