Tags

, , , , ,

Thank you. Those words cannot possibly encompass all that I have felt over the last couple days. The outpouring of support, of love, of understanding, has been so overwhelming and wonderful. Thank you. The reality is that it’s my story, but there are thousands and thousands of stories just like it. Brothers, sisters, fathers, mothers, cousins, you get the idea. Addiction causes a ripple effect, like a stone thrown in to a calm lake, waves expanding and affecting so many. That’s why we need to talk about it. That’s why I talk about it, because I don’t want my children to suffer the same fate. That’s why Totem Tamers came to be, because one of my children was suffering, and as a parent, I needed to do something about it, to help him and hopefully many others. When my son had his first anxiety attack (on a plane, mind you) I wasn’t really sure what was happening. I chalked it up to him being too tired, too sugared up, too excited, but when he started to sweat, and turn pale, and get agitated, I knew I was dealing with something else entirely. The flight was a very long one, and I spent the next several hours softly stroking my son’s arm and talking to him in a low soothing voice to help him stay calm. We made it to our destination thankfully, but within a day, my son expressed anxiety about the return trip and “what if it happens again?” His anxiety switch was flipped. The attacks became more frequent after that first one and I felt completely helpless. It wasn’t until I spoke to my friend and now business partner about his panic attacks, that the idea for Totem Tamers was born. It has been an amazing journey so far as we’ve seen the transformation almost instantly in children with anxiety, my son included. I witnessed a child refuse to go ice skating because he was too scared. Within minutes of introducing him to the Totems, he chose Bear, and off he went. Another child who calls herself a constant worrier, chose Owl. When I saw her the next day she ran to me to tell me how Owl was already helping her stay calm. Her smile was big enough to warm my heart and validate what we are hoping to accomplish. These are just a couple of examples, and there a plenty more thankfully, and our goal is to continue to help those who need it. in order to achieve that, we need to talk about it. We need to remove the stigma attached to anxiety and panic attacks, having them doesn’t make you weak, not asking for help, does. Totem Tamers is a simple tool to help those who suffer from crippling anxiety and overwhelming emotions that interfere with everyday life. Find power in asking for help and finding calm in your life. Share your story, because I guarantee there are many more who feel just the way you do. To learn more about our products, please visit www.totemtamers.com.
Stay well.