Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

I was blessed to spend the day yesterday at a yoga/meditation retreat. It was beautiful and transformative. I have a bad knee so I was concerned about the yoga practice that would be going on during the day. My head is a circus on a usual basis, so I was also concerned about the meditation that was planned, but I was determined to give myself the gift of a day meant just for me. I knew good things were waiting when the night before the retreat I came across a child’s chalk drawing.

Shakti = Creativity

Shakti = Creativity

I was going to head to the retreat and bring my Shakti with me! Shakti is creative power, often linked to our feminine sides (yes, we all have feminine sides), and as we learned during one of the darma talks, we are constantly creating. Suzin Green, who led the retreat, used the example of our bodies that are always creating new cells, so we are inherently creative creatures! With that message, among other profound ones like “Be who you are”, I was ready to be creative and I was ready to be who I am without judgement.  There was an Arts and Crafts component to the retreat, and when all the supplies were brought out, we were simply told to pick the pieces that resonated with us and create something. Of course I became overwhelmed immediately at all the cool possibilities. When I decided to stick with what I know, the overwhelm disappeared and I was able to create and chant simultaneously and find balance and peace in it.

My shakti!

My shakti!

So I tried the yoga, led by the beautiful Claude, and I did it! I tried the meditation, and I even managed that! I tried the art and created something I like to look at! It wasn’t until the ride home though, with one of the retreat-ees, that I received the message loud and clear. When we were talking about our experiences and I recounted how I tried to meditate, this lovely person looked at me and in the kindest way, corrected me. She said “If you were trying to meditate, than you were meditating.” So simple, and so true. It changed my whole perspective. I meditated yesterday, and I did yoga, and I created art yesterday, period. Trying is doing! So do something today, or this week, or whenever you find the courage, but do find it, because there is something magical in the doing, always.

Stay well.

To learn more about Totem Tamers, please find our website at www.totemtamers.com.