Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

That’s the song I usually hear in my head when I think Of Oklahoma, but not today. As the devastation from the monster twister earlier this week becomes apparent, it’s hard to sing at all. I was on a field trip this morning with my first grader and his class. We were joined by schools from all over the city and it was loud, and kids were kicking seats and had to pee, and picking their noses, and emitting bodily noises that you just don’t want to be near. You get the picture. The truth is, I am not complaining. I am rejoicing in the gift of being able to be grossed out by all these adorable little stink machines who are oblivious to the destruction that occurred in a far away city. I am grateful for the chance to sit in the last row of the yellow school bus feeling every pothole and bump this city has to offer while praying no one pukes. My heart goes out to the families who have been affected in Oklahoma, some mourning the loss of loved ones, some mourning the loss of everything they own. Either way, there will be grief and there will be pain for some time to come, and if there’s any way you can take heart in knowing that people around the country are grieving with you, know that you are not alone. In the days to come there will be many opportunities to help those in Oklahoma and I hope you will find it inside yourself to do just that. I will leave you to find your own way to help because as I learned today on the field trip, “I’m not the boss of you.” I have faith always, and maybe cooties now too. 

Stay well. 

To learn more about Totem Tamers, visit our website at www.totemtamers.com.