Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

It’s hard to be creative. There I said it. My name is Julie, and I struggle with my creativity. I am creative, I know that much. I like to be creative, I know that much, too. What I struggle with is being creative when I don’t feel like being creative yet I know that if I tap into my creativity I will find some peace and pleasure. My name is Julie, and I struggle with run-on sentences. My creativity comes out in a variety of ways, this blog for example helps me unloose the flurry of words that cramp my brain sometimes. The blog is extremely therapeutic for me, as is writing poetry. There is no better feeling than writing a poem that gives you the chills every time you read it. I also like to draw, but I don’t draw real things, I draw the flurry of lines and squiggles that cramp my brain sometimes. It’s frenetic in a way, but at the same time so peaceful and focused that everything gets quiet. I should do this everyday, almost as a meditation, but I forget, or I make excuses, or I deny myself the peaceful pleasure of putting brush pen to paper. Then there are those moments where I force myself to take some time, no matter how long, and just get the colors out and go, and every time, yes, every time, I feel better. I pushed myself today, because it had been a while and with such a hard week coming to a close, I knew I needed to give my brain a little taste of quiet. Also, I have been watching a friend on “The Facebook” as she shares her drawing challenge, where she has to follow a directive for 21 days, and draw. She’s a phenomenal artist, and it has been great fun to watch her reclaim her artist self and man, she is gifted and the validation she is getting from all of her friends is awesome. The validation she is giving to herself, is priceless. I am thankful to my friend for making herself vulnerable to the world of social media and for motivating me to force my creativity. Force yourself to be creative, trust me, you’ll be glad you did!

Creative Totem Force!

Creative Totem Force!

And because it’s only fair to show just how brilliant my friend is, I am sharing one of her daily drawing challenges, where the assignment was to draw one subject throughout the day.

SS Skulls! Isn't she awesome?

SS Skulls! Isn’t she awesome?

Stay well.

What will you create? Do you need a Totem by your side for motivation? Click on one of the four Totems on the left and buy one today!!